Skip to content
WagyuSpot
Menu claim
Menu claim only

Santa Fe Steakhouse & Cantina

McAllen, TX · Steakhouse

Tier 3 · Menu claim only What the tiers mean

Wagyu from $100 on the menu we read

Menu claim only

This listing's current published materials advertise Wagyu, but the offering does not meet our full verification standard for provenance. It carries no authenticity badge; undisclosed details remain explicitly unverified.

Why it's listed

Santa Fe Steakhouse and Cantina is a long-running steakhouse at 1918 South 10th St in McAllen, open Monday to Saturday from 5pm with a later cantina. Its current menu page lists three Wagyu cuts inside the main steak list, all at market price: Wagyu A5 NY Strip 6 oz. cut Japan, Wagyu 9+ Ribeye 16 oz. Australia and Wagyu 9+ NY Strip 14 oz. Australia. The menu names the country and a marbling score against each cut but no prefecture, brand, importer or farm. The separate downloadable PDF menu is an older document and lists no Wagyu.

Authenticity flags

  • All three Wagyu steaks here are sold at market price with no figure printed, and the menu identifies them only by country: Japan for the A5 New York strip, Australia for the two 9+ cuts. No prefecture, farm, brand or importer is named for any of them, and the menu does not say what the 9+ score is measured against. Note also that the downloadable PDF menu on this site is an older version that lists no Wagyu at all, so check the menu page instead. Ask what the market price is that night, and where the beef comes from, before you order.

Wagyu on the menu

  • Australian
    Brand / Prefecture
    not disclosed (menu says 'Australia' only, no producer named)
    Grade
    9+ as printed; the menu does not say whether this is an AUS-MEAT MB or MS score
    Producer
    Not listed
  • Japanese
    Brand / Prefecture
    not disclosed (menu says 'Japan' only, no prefecture or brand)
    Grade
    A5
    Producer
    Not listed

Cuts named on the Wagyu menu

Read from this venue’s quoted evidence, so a listed cut may not be on tonight. What these cuts are

Evidence on file

+4 more quotes on file
  • T-Bone Steak 24 oz. $59 / Bone-In Ribeye 22 oz. $64 / Tomahawk Ribeye 48 oz. $100 / Bison Ribeye 16 oz. $100 / Wagyu A5 NY Strip 6 oz. cut Japan Mkt Price
    santafemcallen.com
  • ADDRESS: 1918 South 10th St. McAllen, TX 78503 ... RESTAURANT HOURS: Mon-Thurs 5-10pm Fri-Sat 5-11pm Closed Sundays
    santafemcallen.com
  • "slug":"menu","modified":"2025-02-04T23:58:31"
    santafemcallen.com
  • PRIME STEAKS / We feature aged, USDA PRIME cuts of beef
    santafemcallen.com

Quoted from the venue's own menu or site. A Wagyu claim on a menu is not the same as documented provenance.

Address
1918 S 10th St · McAllen, TX 78503Get directions See McAllen on the Wagyu map →
Price
Price tier 3 of 4
Last checked
August 17, 2026 · evidence on file

Something wrong with this restaurant? Tell us

Common questions

Does Santa Fe Steakhouse & Cantina serve real Wagyu?
Its own current menu advertises Wagyu, and that claim was read directly on August 17, 2026. What the menu does not do is say which Wagyu: no prefecture, grade, breed status or producer is published, so the sourcing cannot be checked from outside. That is a gap in what is written down rather than a suggestion that anything is wrong with the beef, and plenty of kitchens buy carefully without printing the details.
What kind of Wagyu does Santa Fe Steakhouse & Cantina serve?
Its menu discloses not disclosed (menu says 'Australia' only, no producer named) 9+ as printed; the menu does not say whether this is an AUS-MEAT MB or MS score and not disclosed (menu says 'Japan' only, no prefecture or brand) A5. Each of those is taken from the venue's own current materials rather than from a review or a listing site, and the evidence behind it is quoted further down this page.
Why is Santa Fe Steakhouse & Cantina listed without a Wagyu badge?
Because a badge here means the sourcing was checked, not that the food is good. This listing is published because the venue genuinely advertises Wagyu on its own current material, and it carries no badge because that material does not say which Wagyu. If the venue publishes the prefecture, grade, breed status or producer, the listing can move.

More Wagyu nearby