MOUSAI
McAllen, TX · Japanese
Dedicated Wagyu house
Tier 3 · Menu claim only What the tiers mean
Wagyu from $19 on the menu we read · up to $215
This listing's current published materials advertise Wagyu, but the offering does not meet our full verification standard for provenance. It carries no authenticity badge; undisclosed details remain explicitly unverified.
Why it's listed
MOUSAI is a Japanese restaurant and robata bar at 1200 Auburn Ave, Suite 320 in McAllen, trading Tuesday to Sunday and ordering through Toast. Its steak list has a dedicated section headed A5 Certificate with three cuts: 8oz rib eye $215, 8oz filet $205, 8oz New York $190, each described on the ordering menu as Japanese A5 wagyu. Six more Wagyu items run across the menu, including A5 slices on a hot stone, A5 tacos, gyozas, tonkatsu, crispy rice and a $19 A5 nigiri marked japan. No prefecture, brand or farm is named anywhere.
Authenticity flags
- The steak section here is headed A5 Certificate, and the three cuts under it are described only as Japanese A5. The menu never names the prefecture, the farm or the brand behind them, and the line under that heading is about being flamed at your table rather than about paperwork, so do not assume a certificate arrives with the plate. Several cheaper dishes, including the gyozas, the tonkatsu and the crispy rice, say only wagyu with no grade at all. Ask which beef is in which dish, and ask to see the certification, if the source matters to you.
Wagyu on the menu
- unknown
- Brand / Prefecture
- not disclosed
- Grade
- Not listed
- Producer
- Not listed
- Japanese
- Brand / Prefecture
- not disclosed (ordering menu says 'A5 Japanese wagyu'; country only, no prefecture, brand or farm anywhere)
- Grade
- A5
- Producer
- Not listed
| Origin | Brand / Prefecture | Grade | Producer |
|---|---|---|---|
| unknown | not disclosed | Not listed | Not listed |
| Japanese | not disclosed (ordering menu says 'A5 Japanese wagyu'; country only, no prefecture, brand or farm anywhere) | A5 | Not listed |
The experience
New to these? Ways to eat Wagyu
Cuts named on the Wagyu menu
Read from this venue’s quoted evidence, so a listed cut may not be on tonight. What these cuts are
Evidence on file
“"name":"12 oz Rib Eye A5","description":"A5 Japanese wagyu rib eye","prices":[215]”
order.toasttab.com “"name":"8 oz Filet A5","description":"A5 Japanese wagyu filet","prices":[205]”
order.toasttab.com “"name":"12 oz New York A5","description":"A5 Japanese wagyu New York strip","prices":[190]”
order.toasttab.com
+9 more quotes on fileShow fewer
“C E R T I F I C A D O A 5 / 炎上 · F L A M E A D O E N S U M E S A / Rib Eye A5 8oz $215 / Filete A5 8oz $205 / New York A5 8oz $190”
mousaimcallen.com “{n:"Wagyu A5",d:"japan",p:"$19",t:"chef"}”
mousaimcallen.com “{n:"A5 Wagyu on Hot Stone",d:"4oz sumiyaki, yuzu kosho",p:"$60",t:"chef"}”
mousaimcallen.com “Our robata grill brings primal, theatrical energy to every cut. A5 Wagyu, Chilean sea bass, and premium lamb chops”
mousaimcallen.com “A 5 C E R T I F I C A T E / F l a m e d a t y o u r t a b l e · 1 s i d e i n c l u d e d / 8 O Z R I B E Y E A 5 $215 / 8 O Z F I L E T A 5 $205 / 8 O Z N E W Y O R K A 5 $190”
mousaimcallen.com “"name":"Australian Tomahawk by Weight 3 Lb","description":"Australian tomahawk, priced per lb"”
order.toasttab.com “Snake Rivers Farms / NY steak, papas fritas delgadas, salsa de pimienta sichuan / $85”
mousaimcallen.com “"address1":"1200 Auburn Avenue","address2":null,"city":"McAllen","state":"TX","zip":"78504","phone":"9568035088","latitude":26.27603,"longitude":-98.219609”
order.toasttab.com “"date":"2026-08-20","overrideDescription":null,"servicePeriods":[{"__typename":"ServicePeriod","startTime":"12:00","endTime":"23:30"}]”
order.toasttab.com
Quoted from the venue's own menu or site. A Wagyu claim on a menu is not the same as documented provenance.
Something wrong with this restaurant? Tell us
Common questions
- Does MOUSAI serve real Wagyu?
- Its own current menu advertises Wagyu, and that claim was read directly on August 17, 2026. What the menu does not do is say which Wagyu: no prefecture, grade, breed status or producer is published, so the sourcing cannot be checked from outside. That is a gap in what is written down rather than a suggestion that anything is wrong with the beef, and plenty of kitchens buy carefully without printing the details.
- What kind of Wagyu does MOUSAI serve?
- Its menu discloses not disclosed and not disclosed (ordering menu says 'A5 Japanese wagyu'; country only, no prefecture, brand or farm anywhere) A5. Each of those is taken from the venue's own current materials rather than from a review or a listing site, and the evidence behind it is quoted further down this page.
- Why is MOUSAI listed without a Wagyu badge?
- Because a badge here means the sourcing was checked, not that the food is good. This listing is published because the venue genuinely advertises Wagyu on its own current material, and it carries no badge because that material does not say which Wagyu. If the venue publishes the prefecture, grade, breed status or producer, the listing can move.
