MM by Morimoto
Montclair, NJ · Japanese Steakhouse
Dedicated Wagyu house
Tier 3 · Menu claim only What the tiers mean
Wagyu from $16 on the menu we read · up to $245
This listing's current published materials advertise Wagyu, but the offering does not meet our full verification standard for provenance. It carries no authenticity badge; undisclosed details remain explicitly unverified.
Why it's listed
Masaharu Morimoto's Montclair Japanese steakhouse, open since July 2025, runs separate Japanese Wagyu and Australian Wagyu sections alongside its USDA Prime list. The Japanese cuts are sold as A5, from a 6 oz strip loin at $145 to a 12 oz at $245, with A5 also appearing as carpaccio, sushi, a crispy wonton and an ishiyaki rice. No prefecture, producer or marbling score is disclosed for either origin.
Wagyu on the menu
- Australian
- Brand / Prefecture
- Not disclosed
- Grade
- Not listed
- Producer
- Not listed
- Japanese
- Brand / Prefecture
- Not disclosed (menu states A5 with no prefecture)
- Grade
- A5
- Producer
- Not listed
| Origin | Brand / Prefecture | Grade | Producer |
|---|---|---|---|
| Australian | Not disclosed | Not listed | Not listed |
| Japanese | Not disclosed (menu states A5 with no prefecture) | A5 | Not listed |
The experience
New to these? Ways to eat Wagyu
Cuts named on the Wagyu menu
Read from this venue’s quoted evidence, so a listed cut may not be on tonight. What these cuts are
Evidence on file
“Japanese Wagyu: 6 Oz A5 Strip Loin $145; 12 Oz A5 Strip Loin $245 | Australian Wagyu: 10 Oz Coulotte $65; 8 Oz Australian Wagyu Filet $95 | A5 Wagyu Carpaccio $35; A5 Wagyu Crispy Wonton $20; Ishiyaki A5 Bap $49; Japanese A5 Wagyu (sushi) $16”
mmbymorimoto.com
Quoted from the venue's own menu or site. A Wagyu claim on a menu is not the same as documented provenance.
Something wrong with this restaurant? Tell us
Common questions
- Does MM by Morimoto serve real Wagyu?
- Its own current menu advertises Wagyu, and that claim was read directly on July 31, 2026. What the menu does not do is say which Wagyu: no prefecture, grade, breed status or producer is published, so the sourcing cannot be checked from outside. That is a gap in what is written down rather than a suggestion that anything is wrong with the beef, and plenty of kitchens buy carefully without printing the details.
- What kind of Wagyu does MM by Morimoto serve?
- Its menu discloses Not disclosed and Not disclosed (menu states A5 with no prefecture) A5. Each of those is taken from the venue's own current materials rather than from a review or a listing site, and the evidence behind it is quoted further down this page.
- Why is MM by Morimoto listed without a Wagyu badge?
- Because a badge here means the sourcing was checked, not that the food is good. This listing is published because the venue genuinely advertises Wagyu on its own current material, and it carries no badge because that material does not say which Wagyu. If the venue publishes the prefecture, grade, breed status or producer, the listing can move.
